Hey, 

If someone told me I’d be dropping another post this night I’d have doubted it, but this one was just too tough a pill to swallow, this pill is called Anger. 

Anger is a natural and mostly automatic response to pain of one form or another (physical or emotional). Anger can occur when people don’t feel well, feel rejected, feel threatened, or experience some loss. The type of pain does not matter; the important thing is that the pain experienced is unpleasant. Because anger never occurs in isolation but rather is necessarily preceded by pain feelings, it is often characterized as a ”secondhand” emotion. 

We’ve all felt the furnace of wrath rising in us like molten mercury in a thermometer. Different sparks light the fire for each of us: disappointment, failure, disagreement, stress, betrayal, finances, exhaustion, and more. Whatever it is on any given day, anger can leave us lying in bed, contemplating another one-night stand against someone (or everyone).

Passionately guard your anger because it brings a pleasure we don’t feel as quickly or easily in humility or forgiveness. We ironically (and tragically) find comfort in our discomfort, and peace in our internal chaos. But Jesus says, “Everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, ‘You fool!’ will be liable to the hell of fire” (Matthew 5:22). We desperately and irrationally chase healing in our anger, but we find hell there instead letting Satan have his way with us.

So tonight I won’t go to bed with my anger. It will harm me, not heal me. It will betray me, not vindicate me. And it will not produce the justice or reconciliation I need. I’ll Clothe myself, instead, with the awesome power of patience and forgiveness. “Whoever is slow to anger” — and quick to surrender it before bedtime — “is better than the mighty, and he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city” (Proverbs 16:32).

The price of my anger just went up, so high that no one can afford it. 

Goodnight. 

Leave a Reply

