relief

Hey bro

I drafted this 4 years ago but never got around publishing it, pardon my typographical errors.

Sundays
Sports Authority of India – Kandivali (east)

Days and days passed, actually hours had just passed and I was feeling a lot better, its weird that i’m black and find solace most times in genre’s of music you wouldn’t expect me to be listening to, either way I was just out of football practice for the day, walking home thinking about things that had happened to me while I was in Nigeria and obviously India, I was like “whatever man” life goes on.. not too far off from home I met a friend, he should be in his 40’s, he was the most learned person I had as a friend, a successful life in Kenya, a good paying job and his family that lived there aswell, he had such exposure that made him the most ideal person i could relate with. I hadn’t seen him in a while so I knew we’d do a lot of catching up. After the normal pleasantries in Hindi, we got talk talking and the normal and obvious topic – Adapting to Mumbai – came up, he broke everything down to me, after I had explained the bad break ups, problems at school etc. Surprisingly everything he said made complete sense and made me realize that life is not about where you are, its about what you do – where i was – India was the worst place I had been and i came here at just 18, I have felt the full force of being hurt in many ways, but the hope for a better day to come remains, that “better day” will never come if i don’t face up and take the rainy days head on, giving it all i have, never backing down, looking in the face of fear and bringing it to its knees. Failure is constant, it’s the perseverance that keeps you going. The one thing he said that stuck out was “people will always come to you, to try to be friends, you might have good intentions but what if they don’t?? don’t put your trust in someone who cant break it…put your trust in God” even if you’re an atheist we might just have the right mix of opposite and matching behaviors that create good chemistry, it’s a fact. It made me realize that there’s always hope, there’s always a better day ahead, if you’re breathing, if you’re reading this message, then what is it that you are cribbing about?? My brother once told me “imagine giving a day to someone that’s dead what do you think they’d spend it doing?? Even if they have just an hour to live” sure as hell not complaining about break ups or racist remarks.

Bad days always come they’ll never cease, living through them and coming out is the only end result, clothes torn, face full of fatigue, whatever! You lived through it right? Give up hope and it simply means you couldn’t do what the next person could, there are no problems that are new someone else lived through them so why cant you, flick the dirt of your shoulder and let the real you emancipate.

Move with grace, endure with hope and survive with perseverance……..this world is at your feet….take it!

Leave a Reply

