In a relationship, it’s easy to fall into a pattern.

And I’m not saying there’s something wrong with routine. To be honest it’s cool to be with someone who makes me feel so secure that i can go through life unfazed by the BS, I’ve been there

before

– Circa 2010 when i met HER

. But bro i have to be careful in love. Sometimes, i confuse being comfortable with being happy.

All too often, we find ourselves in long-term relationships that don’t excite us. We stay because we’re terrified of the alternative, but we don’t have the energy to start something new.

Being happy means butterflies; being comfortable means complacency.

When im happy, im in a state of euphoria. And “euphoria” doesn’t mean unrealistic romantic bliss. It just means my stomach flips every time i see her. There’s a spark and an excitement that doesn’t die down, because that’s how happy i am.

But when i comfortable, i go with things. I don’t question it. Im not affected by my partner’s presence.

I’m not precisely unhappy, but im not joyous, either. I simply… exist.

Leave a Reply

