India Arie
Bro what’s good

With music these days, anything goes, it doesn’t have to have a message in it, all that’s required is to know the wordings to any song with a good rhythm to it, so as to seem in the know and “current”…

This was one of the songs we watched on tv back in 2005, that definitely deserves a listen even today.
i hope this one would cheer’s you up like it did me – India Arie’s – I am not my hair

enjoy 🙂

“Little girl with the press and curl
Age eight I got a Jheri curl
At Thirteen I got a relaxer
I was a source of so much laughter
At fifteen, it all broke off
Eighteen i went all natural
February 2002
I went on and did
What I had to do.
Because it was time to change my life
To become the women that I am inside.
’97 dreadlocks all gone
I looked in the mirror
For the first time and saw that HEY….

I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am not your expectations no no
I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am a soul that lives within

Good hair means curls and waves
Bad hair means you look like a slave
At the turn of the century
Its time for us to redefine who we be.
You can shave it off
Like a South African beauty
Or get in on lock
Like Bob Marley.
You can rock it straight
Like Oprah Winfrey
If its not what’s on your head
Its what’s underneath it…..

Does the way I wear my hair make me a better person?
Does the way I wear my hair make me a better friend?
Does the way I wear my hair determine my integrity?
I am expressing my creativity..
Breast Cancer and Chemotherapy
Took away her crown and glory
She promised God if she was to survive
She would enjoy everyday of her life ooh
On national television
Her diamond eyes are sparkling
Bald headed like a full moon shining
Singing out to the whole wide world like HEY…

I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am not your expectations no no
I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am a soul that lives within. “

Till next time bro

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_5jIt0f5Z4

One thought on “I am not my hair

Leave a Reply

